November 2016

My core tenets

I always want to see myself in relation to other animals, and other times. I learn as much as I can about the behavior and evolutionary story of as many animals that I can, both extinct and not-yet.

Right now, I'm thinking about birds...

I look at parrots and corvids, the talking, social, stout little monkies of the avian line. They're undoubtedly intelligent, but they're not mammals, some people don't necessarily relate to them like we do with apes, and we don't see their character as readily as we do with dogs or cats or sheep.

Birds are so cool because they are dinosaurs, evolved. They have extremely handsome beaks, eyes, feet, tails, and general body arrangement that can also be seen in the models of the dinosaur animals. My personal theory is that today's birds demonstrate a similar sound and social manners that their dinosaur relatives had.

Honestly, it is very easy for me to trip out on watching birds. Because while I am carefully observing and logging the bird behavior, I am imagining and modifying that to understand what it would look like to behold a dinosaur. That just goes to show you how possessed I am by the knowledge of dinosaurs.

I don't think that anyone should be able to buy or keep as a pet any animal that has been taken from the wild. Actually, I think that people shouldn't be able to "keep" any pet that hasn't already been domesticated for 1,000 generations. Otherwise you can foster parent it, but no bengal cats, no exotic birds, fish, or lizards! Or fuckin bears!!!!

I swear, people have no respect for animals. I remember when I was about 10 years old, my friend's mom took me to school along with her daughter, my friend, one morning. I don't remember what I said, but my friend's mom Tammy got really mad and was like "people are NOT animals." It shouldn't be viewed as a detriment.

2016-11-09, 11:20 p.m.

Pre., Nex.

Other Diaries